TOPO ST-2 Review

I want to start by saying I am a TOPO Athletic Canada ambassador. The following review will be about the TOPO ST-2 road shoe. This is a shoe that I have been using for over a year. I use the ST-2 for mainly road races and speed work.

14590093_10207452152973339_7158875191846053838_o
Back in Black – ST-2 Stylish and sleek.

Ah I have to admit the ST-2 is my favorite run/race shoe I have ever worn. To me this shoe has the perfect combination of cushion, lightweight, comfort and style. It truly is a race shoe and I would recommend it for anything up to a half marathon but not more than that.

My Experience with ST-2

I have had many races with the ST-2 as my shoes of choice so I will pick some of my highlights. First off this is the shoe I have worn when aiming for my 5km Personal Bests and have been able to run an 18.05 minute 5 km in them aswell as an 18.14, 18.26 and 18.42 so I have been able to consistently hit sub 19 minute 5kms using this shoe.

20294478_10209897232058788_4078295229411097930_n
Fast shoes = Fast Running = Hitting PBs!

Other races of note with these shoes are X Warrior Challenge which is an OCR Race based in Alberta. I used it for their stadium race and was able to take home a 6th place overall in 2017 and qualify for the OCR Race World Championships.

2017-05-13 | 2017 X Warrior Challenge Calgary
The ST2 always leave an impression when you race!

Some stats

ST-2 has 0-drop, a 16mm platform offers optimal foot flexibility and ground feel to encourage natural running and movement patterns. Like all TOPO model it has the wide natural toe box for that room the foot needs. The weight is 6.9 oz for Men’s size 9 and 5.6oz for Women’s size 7 so it is ultralight offering a fast but cushioned ride.

Looks

ST2 Grey
Another favourite – grey and orange for a great combination

This is personal my favorite shoe in the looks department. They are too bulky and the fit looks natural. I love the colour schemes where you can go from a sleek all black look to the flashy green and orange combination.

Conclusion

Again this isn’t the best shoe for longer distances but TOPO rightly advertises them as a ‘Light, fast, and versatile, the ST-2 is engineered to deliver a lightweight and secure sock-like fit, ideal for speed work, racing and fitness training’ so you know what you are getting before you purchase them. Used in the right circumstances they are the ideal shoe. The ST-2 packs down flat, making it an amazing travel shoe.

I’ve always loved how Topo focuses on the things that matter most to serious runners and aims to do them well. This shoe is always ready in my arsenal for a fast track session or a short intense race.

Leave a comment